This level of course covers a wide range of essential Buddhist concepts, principles and practices designed for intermediate-level students and practitioners interested in Tibetan Buddhism.   This level course introduces the student to the three principles paths: renunciation, Bodhicitta and wisdom.  It covers a wide range of Buddhist concepts, introducing the student to the view of reality of the Sautrantika School.  At this level, the Buddhist practice of developing  patience,  as the antidote for anger, and mind training techniques (Lojong in Tibetan) are presented.


Patience from The Guide to Bodhisattvas’ Way of Life

There is nothing more evil than anger and nothing more virtuous than patience said Great Bodhisattva Shantideva. Anger is very destructive emotion that destroys merits accumulated over many eons and disturbs one’s peace of mind. Shantideva discusses many efficient ways or antidotes to deal with anger and find peace within our mind.


Essence of Refined Gold - Stages of Path to Enlightenment

The Third Dalai Lama Sonam Gyatso authored this treatise. It is one of the most important practice guides that belong to the Tibetan Buddhist Genre called Lamrim or Stages of Path to Enlightenment. This particular Lamrim is neither too concise nor too exhaustive like Great Lamrim of Lama Tsongkhapa but it provides good understanding of the complete path to enlightenment.


Concentrations and Formless Existence - (Samzug)

There are three realms of existence called desire realm, form realm and formless realm. There are different levels of concentration or Samadhi in form realm and formless realm. This course will discuss various levels of concentrations for spiritual development.


Cultivating Calm Abiding - (Shamatha Practice)

Calm Abiding (Shinas in Tibetan) is a single pointed state of ind that is blissful and results in pliancy of body and mind. There are nine stages of mental development to be able to experience calm abiding and there are various attention and powers to progress on the developmental stage. This course will explain and discuss calm abiding and its stages and necessary practices to cultivate Shamatha.


The Three Principle Paths by Lama Tsongkhapa

This profoundly moving poem explicates the three principle paths which are: renunciation, Bodhicitta and wisdom gone beyond. Without these paths there is no way to attain either liberation from Samsara or complete enlightenment. This course will explain each of these paths, their importance and how to cultivate them.


Tenets According to Sautrantika School of Buddhism

There are many schools of thought in Buddhism and Sautrantika School is one of the major schools. This course will focus on Sautrantika’s perspective on understanding realities and mindsets. The text is Part Two - Theory: Systems of Tenets of "Cutting Through Appearances, Practice and Theory of Tibetan Buddhism." by Geshe Lhundrup Sopa and Jeffrey Hopkins. Understanding the Sutra School is the basis to understand the Mind Only and Middle Way Schools.


The Heart Sutra (The Essence of Wisdom Gone Beyond Discourse)

There are over 108 Sutras in Tibetan Buddhism and these are considered discourses given by the historical Buddha Shakyamuni Of them all Heart Sutra is most famous and recited by many Buddhist practitioners from various countries. Buddha gave this discourse on the Vultures Peak at Rajgir in the present Indian State of Bihar. This sutra explicitly propounds emptiness (Tongpa Nyid in Tibetan or Shunyata) – the ultimate reality of all phenomena


The Precious Garland by Arya Nagarjuna

Arya Nagarjuna has authored several monumental Buddhist treatises. The Precious Garland or Ratnavali discusses the complete pathways to enlightenment. It provides antidotes to deal with our delusions and cultivate compassion and wisdom to be able to realize our fullest potential to be Buddha or Enlightened Being. This course will explain this poetic yet profound treatise of Arya Nagarjuna to enhance our spirituality.